Skip to content

Freedom starts with personal responsibility.

August 16, 2010

Scripture:

Luke 12:47-48

47 “That servant who knows his master’s will and does not get ready or does not do what his master wants will be beaten with many blows.48 But the one who does not know and does things deserving punishment will be beaten with few blows. From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.

Observation:

There are different levels of responsibility in God’s kingdom.  When I know what should be done but fail to get it done, I have a harsh punishment waiting me.   God is demanding much from me if he has given me much.  The word used here is entrusted.  God is “entrusting” me with much and I am expected to do much with what He has given to me.  This speaks about personal responsibility.  This is a Biblical reality-God is holding me responsible for what he has given to me.

Application:

Am I taking my responsibilities seriously?  Do I look at what I have as from God?  Health, time, family, income, relationships, church, gifts, homes, marriage, body, etc. are all things I have been given that are under my stewardship.  What am I doing with these resources?  How many years, months, weeks and even days have gone by where I know I have missed what I should have been doing?  We are surrounded by much victim talk in our society, it is so easy to blame everything and everyone else without taking personal responsibility.

Thank God for his grace and love and mercy, but I don’t think that means much is still not required of me.  I know I will never be as disciplined as I wish, but what am I doing with today?  What IS God requiring of me?  Am I willing to change and to rearrange so I can see my “talents” grow instead of being buried.

Prayer:

Lord, I need your help today.  I know what things I should be doing, but I fall so short in accomplishing them.  I don’t want another year to go by without arranging my life in such a way where you are glorified.  I want to “beat my body into submission”.  I don’t want to do this in a legalistic way because I’m somehow earning your favor, but because You have entrusted me with so much and I’m responsible for what You have given me.  I don’t think I’m taking responsibility like I should many times.  Television, movies, laziness takes priority too often.  I haven’t been willing to cut off the things which hold me back.   Help me to get radical in my approach to personal responsibility.  Lord give me total freedom in all areas of my life.  You have truly set me free and I want to walk in that freedom today.  Completely.  Amen!

No comments yet

Leave a comment